[about] [archive] [notes] [profile] [library] [diaryland]

2022-07-27 - 4:50 p.m.

love is to act

"i knew what you were going to tell me before you even said it. that's 'cause i had a lot of old cats." my son played with his cousins for a little while, got really angry for no apparent reason, and cried himself to sleep.

we were on vacation with my husband's side of the family when the news came. i look awful in every picture from the trip. sad and shattered.

* * *


but somehow, after the stroke took most of her brain, my grandmother could still hear us and respond. she squeezed my hand conversationally, smiled at news of the kids, reached toward my sister's voice with her good hand.

my poor sister. what a world.

* * *


i sew up the little holes in my t-shirts and underpants. let the weeds flourish along the edges of the flowerbeds. try to get a little more life out of everything.

* * *


reading: "can you find some blue things in our teeny tiny house? said the teeny tiny mommy to the teeny tiny mouse" etc
listening to: chill beats to relax/study to. why the hell not.
working on: a business plan. why the hell not.
in the garden: weeds.


[n-1] < n < [n+1]