[about] [archive] [notes] [profile] [library] [diaryland]

2022-05-11 - 2:52 p.m.

after the leak, le déluge

they note that attitudes about the pregnancy of unmarried woman have changed drastically; that federal and state laws ban discrimination on the basis of pregnancy; that leave for pregnancy and childbirth are now guaranteed by law in many cases; that the costs of medical care associated with pregnancy are covered by insurance or government assistance.”

* * *


i am indoors on a beautiful spring day, cleaning vomit from every rug and couch and bed. the children are tucked in sleeping bags, sick and asleep.

in a city two hours north of here, an incompetent home care worker dropped my sister in the bathroom because no competent person can afford to work at the current reimbursement rate. i cannot go and help because my husband has the car. my grandmother is not really bouncing back from a hard fall in her kitchen, and my uncle is so deep into conspiracy thinking that my father suspects cognitive decline.

it is a beautiful spring day, and i love my children. do i care for motherhood? not at all.

* * *


reading: this book about chickens that my daughter really likes, and also the article about alexander grothendieck in latest issue of the new yorker. i memorize my kid's favorite books so i can recite the words and turn the pages while also reading something else.
listening to: like rain freezing & thawing between bricks, maple stave. i miss live music.
working on: redoing our household menu and grocery budget to accommodate my husband's newly identified lactose intolerance and the rising cost of everything.
in the garden: we spent the entire garden budget - and then some - on removing a hazardous dying tree. let's hope nothing else goes wrong.


[n-1] < n < [n+1]