[about] [archive] [notes] [profile] [library] [diaryland]

2021-06-08 - 9:48 a.m.

it's early june but it feels like august.

there's too much humidity in the air, and a back-to-school energy, all out of season.

all these things that seemed so impossible a few weeks ago are now easy to do. i am finishing projects, making small long-needed repairs, trying new recipes, sitting down after the children are asleep in bed and reading a book straight through from cover to cover.

what changed? i don't know.

* * *


reading: the hole, by oyamada hiroko. "it felt as though it was exactly my size — a trap made just for me.”
listening to: so many goddamn leaf blowers and string trimmers. what the fuck. this hellscape of suburban grass.
working on: building a montessori climbing thing for my youngest. my brother ordered the same toy readymade from ukraine, because he has much more money and less time than me. this thing was only worth making if you consider my time to be worth nothing.
in the garden: i put this expensive compost made from lobsters on my tomato plants and they practically doubled in size overnight.


[n-1] < n < [n+1]